Come Tour With Us...
Guided Tour of the North House Museum: Tours of the North House Museum are available Monday through Saturday 10am to 4pm or by appointment.  Free for individuals or groups of 10 or less.  Donations are welcome.
Group Tour of the North House Museum:  Tours of the North House Museum are available with advance notice for groups of 10 or more.  Admission: Adults $5.00 per person
North House and Town Tour: Tours of the North House Museum and downtown Lewisburg are available with advance notice for groups of 10 or more.  The town tours can be walking or step-on tours.  Admission: $10 per person.
Tombstone Tours: Tours of the Old Stone and Confederate Cemeteries are offered several times per year or with advance notice for groups of 10 or more.  Admission: $5 per person.
School Group Tours: Tours of the North House Museum and other educational programs are available for school-age groups.
For more information, contact Museum Coordinator Toni Ogden at 304.645.3398 or museum@greenbrierhistorical.org.
Click to add image
Click to add image
Click to add image
Click to add image
Explore the lives of Greenbrier Valley residents at the North House Museum.  Built in 1820, the North House was the home of local lawyer John North and his wife Charlotte for more than a decade before becoming James Frazier’s Star Tavern and Inn.  At the turn of the 20th century, the North House became the home of Dr. Robert Telford, President of the Greenbrier College for Women.  The Greenbrier Historical Society has operated within the North House since 1976 and has owned the building since 1992.
Today, the museum’s permanent displays and temporary exhibits feature items from across the Greenbrier Valley, including the training saddle of General Robert E. Lee’s horse, Traveller, an 18th century covered wagon, Civil War artifacts, and furniture made by local craftsman David Surbaugh, as well as original items from the North family.  From early settlements to the Civil War and beyond, the lives of everyday Americans can be experienced at the North House Museum.
Free guided tours of the museum are offered Monday through Saturday from 10am to 4pm to individuals and groups of 10 or less. Tours last approximately 30 to 45 minutes, with the last tour leaving at 3:15pm. 
With advance notice, the North House Museum can accommodate groups of 10 persons or more for private tours or other activities.
The Barracks
Located at 200 North Jefferson Street, the Barracks is one of the earliest buildings in Lewisburg, West Virginia. Although the exact date is unknown, the Barracks was built sometime between 1787 and before 1807 - around the time of the town’s incorporation in 1789. A three-story stone and log structure, the Barracks is situated on the Seneca Trail Highway (State Route 219), one block from Historic Downtown Lewisburg and the Midland Trail National Scenic Byway (US Route 60).

 In the early 1800s, the Barracks served as an outpost of civilization in present-day Greenbrier County. Located only yards from the General Lewis Spring, the Barracks served as a stopping point for early settlers, freight wagons, military units, and stage coaches. It derived its name from its use as a barracks during the war of 1812.

The Barracks is one of the best known and most eye-catching structures in the area, noticed by all who pass through Lewisburg. As one travels into Downtown Lewisburg, this building prompts one to imagine the lifestyles of early Virginians and pioneers as they traveled into this fertile and vibrant area.

Owned and operated by the Greenbrier Historical Society, the Barracks is currently undergoing historic preservation and renovation, and is not open to the public at this time. GHS plans to turn the property into a multi-purpose space for the society—including exhibits, a gift shop, and additional storage for its growing collections.